top of page
  • Barbara Copperthwaite

What’s Their Secret? Stephen Edger @StephenEdger confesses! #HerLastSecret

WHAT'S THEIR SECRET.jpeg

To celebrate #HerLastSecret going on sale, I’ve asked authors to share their secrets with me… Today it’s crime and thriller author STEPHEN EDGER.

Stephen Edger is a British crime writer, who has been writing since 2010. In that time he has written and published more than a dozen novels, and five short stories. He writes mysteries and thrillers focused on crime.

Stephen was born in the north-east of England, grew up in London, but has lived in Southampton since attending university in the year 2000. Stephen works in the financial industry, and uses his insider knowledge to create the plots of his books. He also has a law degree, which gives him a good understanding of the inner workings of the UK justice system.

Stephen is married, and has two children, and two dogs. He is passionate about reading and writing, and cites Simon Kernick and John Grisham as major influences on his writing style.

0. PROFILE - B&W.jpg

Secret writing ritual…

I’m a plotter. I usually have notes on at least the next 20 chapters of the story, so I always know where I’m going from one day to the next. The night before I’m going to type, I review the notes for the next two chapters. Then, when I wake, I put on headphones and listen to music while I walk my dogs. While we’re out (and lost in my own little world), I play out those chapters in my imagination (who’s in it, what they might say, how they will react, etc.) It’s almost like watching a scene from a movie. Then when I’m home I can write the chapter, have a break for breakfast and then write the second. I’m quite a fast typist so can usually do 1500 words in a little over an hour. But I always limit myself to two chapters / 3000 words a day, and I only write when I’m in the mood too. If I wake one morning and I’m “not feeling it”, I don’t write.

Secret writing snack…

I don’t have one, sorry. Because I usually write first thing in the morning I tend to have tea and coffee on the go.

Secret celebration when you finish a WIP…

I usually give myself a week off before I even think about plotting the next project, to recharge the creative juices. I don’t think I’ve ever formally celebrated finishing a WIP, because as soon as I’m satisfied I’ve finished it, I’m usually convinced it’s rubbish and am eager to move on to something new.

‘Guilty secret’ read…

I used to read The Sun when I travelled to work (for the football gossip, you understand), but I always used to love reading the ‘Dear Deidre’ pages too. I was convinced that all the letters had to be made up, and pitied the poor saps who had to try and come up with the “problems” that needed Deidre’s advice.

‘Guilty secret’ tv programme…

I love watching shows where you see the real police in high speed pursuits. You know the ones where it’s filmed from a dashboard camera, or from the police helicopter following the reckless driver who mistakenly thinks he’s going to get away with it.

_90010195_gettyimages-531592676

Shared secret…

When I was younger I didn’t have an imaginary friend, but instead an imaginary life. When I was daydreaming, I was Stephen Edger: the hot and talented Premiership football player. I’d score goals for fun for both club and country. Sadly, my football skills have never amounted to much, which I guess is why I chose to imagine them instead. I still play five-a-side once a week, but sadly my dream of scoring at Wembley are shot.

Secret peek into my new WIP…

Book-2 in my new Kate Matthews series is currently being edited by Bookouture and focuses on the real reason Kate was transferred from London to Southampton before ‘Dead To Me’. Kate is on sick leave, and it is the anniversary of former colleague DC Amy Spencer’s death. Nobody wants Kate anywhere near the investigation, but she’s determined to find out what happened in her own unique style.

Secret Santa…

If I could give a happy ending to any character it would have to be Mark Baines. He appeared in my first novel Integration and in two follow-ups (Redemption, and Shadow Line). He is a young man who has been beaten up, threatened, framed and wrongfully convicted of murder, had his girlfriend killed, identity stolen, fiancée kidnapped, and is (still) on the run. Crumbs, if anyone deserves some happiness it’s him.


THANKS FOR THOSE GREAT CONFESSIONS, STEPHEN!




Facebook Header - Pre Order Her Last Secret

HER LAST SECRET is out on Friday 13th October. Lucky for you – unlucky for the Thomas family…

To pre-order or find our more, use the links below.

UK


🇬🇧

US


🇺🇸

There are some secrets you can never tell.

The last thing to go through Dominique Thomas’s head was the image of her teenage daughter’s face and her heart lifted. Then the shot rang out.

They were the perfect family. Successful businessman Ben Thomas and his wife Dominique live an enviable life, along with their beautiful children; teenager Ruby and quirky younger daughter, Mouse.

But on Christmas Day the police are called to their London home, only to discover a horrific scene; the entire family lying lifeless, victims of an unknown assailant.

But when Ruby’s diary is discovered, revealing her rage at the world around her, police are forced to look closer to home for the key to this tragedy.

Each family member harboured their own dark truths – but has keeping their secrets pushed Ruby to the edge of sanity? Or are there darker forces at work?

This dark, gripping psychological thriller will have you holding your breath until the very last page. Fans of Behind Closed Doors, Sometimes I Lie, and The Girl on the Train will be captivated.

See what readers are saying about Barbara Copperthwaite:

‘My heart and guts were gripped and squeezed so tight I had trouble reading!…This broke my heart into so many pieces…I was left speechless by the flawless narration and the harrowing emotions that rushed through me until the very end.’ Chocolate and Waffles

‘A darkly addictive and creepy page turner that had me on the edge of my seat…the last few chapters were breathtakingly shocking with developments I hadn’t been expecting and the final pages were absolutely brilliant, leaving me with goosebumps!’ My Chestnut Reading Tree

‘Compelling, claustrophobic and horribly believable – a great read!’ B.A. Paris, author of Behind Closed Doors and The Breakdown

‘It grips you by the throat and doesn’t let go. A tense, edge-of-your-seat, nail-biting ride’Robert Bryndza, author of The Girl in the Ice and Last Breath

‘Vividly written and absolutely gripping. I couldn’t put it down!’ The Genre Reader

‘There are plenty of twists and turns that will keep you guessing, leading all the way to a jaw-dropping ending that left me spinning.’ Novel Deelights

‘Gripping and shocking. Had me completely enthralled in the action…a story that got under my skin.’ Rachel’s Random Reads

‘A dark, compelling and unforgettable read that had me hooked. The final paragraph haunted me, long after I had finished reading.’ Brew and Books Review

‘Addictive, Thrilling, Captivating! I could not put this book down, it captures your interest from the very first page until the very last.’ Book Reviews by Nicole

‘It really did make for some very emotional reading…There was a twist which totally rocked me.’ By The Letter Book Reviews

‘Plenty of red herrings and twists…If you like psychological thrillers, you’ll love it.’ Consumer reviewer

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page