top of page
  • Barbara Copperthwaite

What’s Their Secret? ELAINE SPIRES confesses! #HerLastSecret

To celebrate #HerLastSecret going on sale, I’ve asked authors to share their secrets with me… Today it’s ELAINE SPIRES, author of the Singles series, and The Banjo.

Elaine Spires is a novelist, playwright and actress. Extensive travelling and a background in education and tourism perfected Elaine’s keen eye for the quirky characteristics of people, captivating the humorous observations she now affectionately shares with the readers of her seven novels, two novelas and two selections of short stories.  She has written numerous plays and sketches, including What’s Eating Me, her one-woman show that she performed on the London and Edinburgh Fringes and which later became her first novel.  She also adapted her book Singles’ Holiday for the stage and wrote the serial drama Paradise View which was filmed and extensively broadcast throughout the Caribbean.  Elaine is a keen armchair tennis fan and she spends her time between her homes in Essex and Five Islands, Antigua (W.I.).

d4ec26_041d399523044e9cb7545d8bf07cd018~mv2

Secret Writing Ritual…

Elvis playing in the background with a large mug of coffee and a couple of Jaffa Cakes.

Secret Writing Snack…

(See above) and cashew nuts.

Secret celebration when you finish your WIP…

A huge sigh of relief and I usually shed a few tears. (I’m not sure what that’s all about!)

Guilty secret read…

Agatha Christie.  I’ve read them all a hundred times but I just love them.

Guilty secret TV programme…  

EastEnders!  Because I’m an East End Girl.

Shared secret…

I owned the first Chinese Restaurant in San Antonio, Ibiza.

Secret Santa…

Beth wouldn’t die in Little Women!

THANKS FOR THOSE GREAT CONFESSIONS, ELAINE!




Facebook Header - Pre Order Her Last Secret

HER LAST SECRET is out on Friday 13th October. Lucky for you – unlucky for the Thomas family…

To pre-order or find our more, use the links below.

UK


🇬🇧

US


🇺🇸

Some secrets you can never tell.

Everyone thinks the Thomases are the perfect family: grand London house, gorgeous kids.

They don’t know wife Dominique is a paranoid wreck.

They don’t know husband Ben is trapped in a web of deceit.

They don’t know daughter Ruby lives in fear of the next abusive text.

But someone knows all their secrets.

Can the lies that bind them destroy them all?

This dark, gripping psychological thriller will have you holding your breath until the very last page. Fans of Behind Closed Doors, Sometimes I Lie, and The Girl on the Train will be captivated.

See what readers are saying about Her Last Secret:

‘OH MY WORD! This is a fantastic read!… I was totally immersed in the Thomas family’s story… Outstanding, I highly recommend!’ Chat About Books

‘Absolutely superb, she’s only gone and done it again – did NOT want to put this book down!!’ Donna’s Book Blog

‘I absolutely loved this well-written emotional rollercoaster, the twists in the story keep you hooked, trying to work out what happened that night. Highly recommended.’ Nicki’s Life of Crime

‘Wow what a fantastic book, totally thrilling and captivating! A tangled web of lies and secrets is masterfully woven in this psychological thriller…I was hooked right from page one…a big fat 5 stars from me, I totally recommend this book.’ Bonnie’s Book Talk

‘This is one hell of an engaging read…I am blown away. I cannot recommend this enough; it is without a doubt a must-read book. Giving it a massive 5 stars.’ Chelle’s Book Reviews

Praise for Barbara Copperthwaite:

‘It grips you by the throat and doesn’t let go. A tense, edge-of-your-seat, nail-biting ride’Robert Bryndza, author of The Girl in the Ice and Cold Blood

‘Vividly written and absolutely gripping. I couldn’t put it down!’ The Genre Reader (5 stars)

‘There are plenty of twists and turns that will keep you guessing, leading all the way to a jaw-dropping ending that left me spinning.’ Novel Deelights (5 stars)

‘Gripping and shocking. Had me completely enthralled in the action…a story that got under my skin.’ Rachel’s Random Reads (5 stars)

‘A dark, compelling and unforgettable read that had me hooked. The final paragraph haunted me, long after I had finished reading.’ Brew and Books review (5 stars)

‘Addictive, Thrilling, Captivating! I could not put this book down, it captures your interest from the very first page until the very last.’ Book Reviews by Nicole (5 stars)

‘It really did make for some very emotional reading…There was a twist which totally rocked me.’ By The Letter Book Reviews

‘Plenty of red herrings and twists…If you like psychological thrillers, you’ll love it.’ Consumer reviewer (5 stars)

2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page