top of page
  • Barbara Copperthwaite

PhotoFiction: Val Penny shares #writing inspirations @valeriepenny @crookedcatbooks #authorinterview

Authors reveal the images that inspired 100,000 words

THIS WEEK: Val Penny reveals how Edinburgh provided the perfect setting for her detective series…

author pic 2.jpg


Val Penny is the author of The Edinburgh Crime Mysteries. The first In the series, ‘Hunter’s Chase’, was published by Crooked Cat Books on 02.02.2018 while the sequel, ‘Hunter’s Revenge’, will be published on 09.09.2018 and the third in the series, Hunter’s Force follows shortly. All books are available to order from Amazon, Barnes & Noble and The Edinburgh Bookshop.

Vicky's Edinburgh 1.jpg

VAL SAYS: Thank you for inviting me to your blog today, Barbara. I am very excited because my second crime novel, ‘Hunter’s Revenge’ is published by Crooked Cats Books and available to pre-order from Amazon.

The story is set in Edinburgh, the capital of Scotland. I think setting is very important to a novel and did consider creating an imaginary town for my story. However, I lived in Edinburgh for many years and know the city well. I definitely saw my main protagonist, Detective Inspector Hunter Wilson, as a city policeman. Also, Edinburgh is a beautiful city and it is lovely to ‘research’ by walking around my favourite places! TO READ IN FULL, CLICK HERE

2 views0 comments


bottom of page